PCB 4843 Fundamentals of Neuroscience Fall 2018

Course Syllabus as PDF

Written Project

Topics for Written Project

Fri October 26: Select Topic on Canvas
Fri November 9: Draft/Outline of Disease Paper Due
Fri December 7: Final Draft of Paper Due

Structure of Written Report

Lectures

Recordings for use only by enrolled FSU students. © T. Houpt Ph.D. Figures shown are copyright by their respective owners.

Section 1 : Neurons and Synapses

# Date Topic PDF PPT Recording
1 Tue 28-Aug Overview of Nervous System PDF PPT MP4
2 Thu 30-Aug Anatomy of Neurons PDF PPT MP4
3 Tue 4-Sept Brain Imaging PDF PPT MP4
4 Thu 6-Sep Ion Channels, Membrane Potential PDF PPT MP4
5 Tue 11-Sep The Action Potential PDF PPT MP4
6 Thu 13-Sep Synaptic Transmission PDF PPT MP4
6b Thu 20-Sep Neuronal Stimulation PDF PPT
7 Tue 25-Sep Neurotransmitters PDF PPT MP4
8 Thu 27-Sep Toxins PDF PPT MP4

Thur, 27-Sept. Exam 1: Covers Lectures 1-8


Section 2 : Sensory Systems

# Date Topic PDF PPT Recording
9 Tue 25-Sep Receptors, Taste PDF PPT
10 Tue 2-Oct Taste & Olfaction PDF PPT MP4
11 Thu 4-Oct Vision 1: the retina PDF PPT MP4
12 Tue 9-Oct Vision 2: the cortex PDF PPT MP4
16 Thu 25-Oct Touch (online only because of hurricane) PDF PPT MP4

Thu, 23-Oct. Exam 2: Covers Lectures 9-15


Section 3 : Motor Systems & Hypothalamus

# Date Topic PDF PPT Recording
17 Tue 30-Oct Ear 1: Vestibular & Hearing PDF PPT MP4
18 Thu 1-Nov Ear 2: Vestibular & Hearing PDF PPT MP4
19 Tue 6-Nov Spinal Reflexes PDF PPT MP4
20 Thu 8-Nov Motor Cortex PDF PPT MP4

Tue, 13-Nov. Exam 3: Covers Lectures 16-20


Section 4 : Higher Processes

# Date Topic PDF PPT Recording
20 Thu 15-Nov Basal Ganglia PDF PPT MP4
21 Tue 20-Nov Feeding PDF PPT MP4
22 Tue 27-Nov Addiction PDF PPT MP4
23 Thu 29-Nov Depression PDF PPT MP4
24 Thu 29-Nov More Depression MP4
25 Thu 29-Nov Learning and Memory PDF PPT MP4
26 Tue 4-Dec More Learning and Memory MP4
27 Thu 6-Dec Dementia PDF PPT MP4

TUESDAY, 11-December. Final Exam: Covers Lectures 21-26


 

© 2014 T.A. Houpt. Last updated 2018-11-08.